Article Score0

A friend told me that working with a home inspection company/ person that your realtor recommends is not advisable. Apparently, in order to close the deal, the realtor and home inspection company may try and lessen the severity of certain issues discovered during home inspection to hasten the sale of the house. Is this true? possible? What do the experts here suggest.

Tags:

8 Thoughts on Should I select my own home inspection or allow my realtor to recommend someone?
  1. Reply
    shiprepairwoman
    July 6, 2011 at 11:49 am

    Get your own one that is recommended won’t be recommend often if they don’t get deals closed.

  2. Reply
    Everyone else is crazy...but me!
    July 6, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    A lot of scams in real estate are formulated by the seller/agent using their own inspector (who will give results favorable to them). Any time somebody in a realestate transaction tries to control both the valuation and sale of a property, look out.

    Get your own inspector.

  3. Reply
    Keep On Trucking
    July 6, 2011 at 12:54 pm

    99% of the time a Realtor will reccommend a home inspector they know and trust to do the job right. However, just like in every profession, there are a few jerks who only want to take your money and spoil it for others. There are some abusive teachers, but most just want to educate children well. There are some doctors who commit malpractice, but most want to take care of people. And there are some shady Realtors, but most are very helpful.

    If you trust your Realtor, rest assured that their preferred home inspector earned that position through years of good work. If you don’t trust your Realtor, what are you doing with them in the first place!?

  4. Reply
    Lizzie 21
    July 6, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    I would for sure try to find your own company. I just purchased my very own condo in march of 2007 and i used the company that my real estate company advised me too. the company was horrible!! and didn’t do anything really. I was asking tons of questions when he was leaving and he had to check the items once i asked!! which he was supposed to have already checked. Such as leaking pipes, why the floor is uneven- the tile in my kitchen is uneven where the vent is by like an inch? it even took a while to realize that the hot water tank was located in a different room- he was was going to skip that part until i had a little fit about it. Basically i think that using the company that the real estate agent suggested was a 250.00 dollar waste- who didn’t spot out anything wrong- but as soon as i moved in i noticed a few things that weren’t right. If you could find your own company they have nothing to gain from lieing to you about your inspection- or keeping things private. The inspection company isn’t liable for anything that may go wrong after you move in. The inspection company does have the real estate company giving them work- so obviously they’re going to work together to get eachother the business. I just wish that i would have realized it when i purchased my condo!!
    Anyway congrats with your Purchase- and i hope that the inspection goes well 🙂

  5. Reply
    REALTOR
    July 6, 2011 at 2:08 pm

    You have the right to hire any inspector you want. When your Realtor asks you why you want to use your inspector, tell the Realtor you do not trust him or her. You want your Realtor to be honest with you, so you should be honest with the Realtor.

  6. Reply
    acermill
    July 6, 2011 at 2:31 pm

    As a realtor, I never recommend any specific home inspector. Over the years, I have been able to determine which inspectors are thorough and honest, and which are otherwise. I have a list of these inspectors which I hand to the buyer, and then tell them to make their choice from the list provided.

  7. Reply
    irishbarfight
    July 6, 2011 at 2:49 pm

    This may be true of some offices..but not for the honest ones like the one I’m an Agent at. We work (at my office) with two select companies..and this is ONLY because they’ve been in the business for far longer than their competition, they fairly price their inspections to make this expense easier on the buyers and they’re both very reputable. There should be NO reason why an office would try to “lessen” the details found on inspection by being in cahoots with an inspection company. If something “isn’t found”..purposely..and the closing happens..and then the BUYER finds this out (why didn’t you TELL ME??? I wouldn’t have bought this had I known!!) ALL parties involved would face heavy fines, large lawsuits, loss of licensure, bad marks on their reputations within the community,..and possibly even jail time. It just doesn’t “pay” to do this. I’m sure there are people out there that would stoop this low, but nobody in their right mind would even entertain such a thought.

  8. Reply
    csbiup
    July 6, 2011 at 3:19 pm

    I trusted my realtor to give me the inspectors because I completely trusted my realtor. Of course, I trusted the realtor because she was recommended by other home buyers.
    Our inspectors were a family business that had been in business 3 generations. They were thorough and pointed out things we didn’t notice. Then I took their report to friends in the new home building business and asked what they thought was serious and needed fixed before move in. THEN we talked to the realtor about what to ask the sellers to fix.
    Use your own company if you feel you need to, or go with theirs, but don’t let yourself be pushed around. Just remember that these people do this every day and may know what works– if you trust them.

    Leave a reply

    Register New Account
    Reset Password