Know the rule on this?

Tips and Deals Forums Consumer Credit Improve Credit Know the rule on this?

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author
    Posts
    • #376663
      Anonymous
      Inactive

      My understanding is that if a player holds the ball in one hand (i.e., has complete control of the ball) and touches the ground with the ball, say to keep from falling, or to re-gain balance, that that’s the same as being tackled and that’s where the ball is placed. Continuing to run after touching the ground with the ball is then irrelevant. A friend disagrees and says you can touch the ground with the ball and then continue to run. While not the same thing this is related to what was done historically in football: the player crossing into the end zone would touch the ball to the ground to get credit for a score (thus the term “touch down”). Keep in mind this is not the same as fumbling the ball, having it bounce back and then continuing to run. Your thoughts?

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
Register New Account
Reset Password