Applying for disability benefits worth while in my case?

Tips and Deals Forums Home Insurance Applying for disability benefits worth while in my case?

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Anonymous 7 years, 10 months ago.

• Author

Anonymous

I am wondering how good of a chance I have at qualifying for Disability benefits? I contacted SS and have a telephone appointment next week. Here’s the important background on me. I’m 32 and since I was 24 I was bedridden for several years, mainly house bound and dependant on my first husband. After a 3M internship working in a food product lab I woke up with the intenese pain in my back at 24. Before then I had worked in your average minimum wage jobs while I was a student and did most of my schooling online if the courses were offered online b/c at 19 I started getting pain in my buttocks and hips which made it hard to sit for more than 45min and I was diagnosed with hip bursitis. At 24 I was diagnosed with 2 herniated lumbar discs, Degenerative Disc Disease & Spinal Stenosis. Since than, my pain has been managed and cared for by pain management doctors. I was told I was not a good candidate for any of the standard surgeries that are covered by insurance and not “experimental.” I went on pain medications and various medications to help control muscles, nerve pain and the pain in my back. In 2006 I worked for my first husband from home in bed from my computer. I worked when I could. My first husband founded a 2 person internet company. He developed websites and I worked when I could from home in bed adding content to the websites. Because he was a friend / spouse he let me work when I could and how ever much I could. In 2007 I was formally diagnosed with Fibromyalgia. In 2008 I stopped working F/T for my first husband and we divorced. I remarried and I mainly have been a dependant of my current husband. I got pregnant in Oct 2008 and had a hard pregnancy given I suffer from a chronic pain con